The Don’t Weight For Change Manifesto

Hello world! I’m very excited to be starting this blog. I’ve been trying to work up the guts to do it for a while now. I thought my first post should just be about who I am, what I’m about, and why I’m starting this blog. Here goes.

I am a nineteen-year-old female finishing my freshman year of college as a nutrition major. I think one of the most important things to know about me is that I am dedicated to wellness and fitness, and that I spend a lot of my time preoccupied with how to eat better to improve my health, while still enjoying food as much as possible. I am not only dedicated to a healthy diet for myself, but for everyone around me. For a long time now I have been particularly passionate about working to stem the epidemic of obesity and diet-related chronic diseases in the U.S. What that has meant to me up until recently is mostly calorie reduction—and I still firmly believed that weight management in and of itself is a matter of balancing calories consumed with calories expended. However, I have rapidly become convinced since entering college that our health problems do not begin and end with calorie balance or even with obesity. The roots of an endless list of problems facing humanity today—not limited to human health problems—can be traced to our food system: how food is grown, processed, marketed, sold, consumed, and wasted. The fact of the matter is that if we reformed the food system to a great enough extent, the obesity problem would correct itself. I have become sickened by the abuses of the majority of the food industry and by how they have government in the palm of their hand. Of course, people are becoming more and more aware of these abuses, and I hear of little positive changes happening here and there all the time. I want to be a part of that change. Some day I hope to make my career advocating to make the healthy choice the easy choice, or better yet the obvious choice, for at least all Americans. For now, though, I can write this blog, and hope to set an example by sharing my attempts to navigate this world to eat healthfully to better myself, all humans, animals, and the earth.

I foresee that in this process I will make some controversial claims. Actually, come to think of it, I have already. If you have reason to disagree with me at any point in time, please leave a comment. Unlike some people, I am definitely open to having my beliefs constrained by new information—in fact that’s how I got to this point, typing this sentence. Any feedback is welcome unless it’s disrespectful.

A note on the blog title: if you are reading this and were in my psych class junior year of high school, you may remember that we started a wimpy social media campaign to fight obesity with the same title, which I helped create. I still think it’s really catchy and captures what I’m about, so I hope no one minds if I use it.

I hope what I write informs and inspires you. Bon appetit!

3 thoughts on “The Don’t Weight For Change Manifesto

  1. I really admire and salute your vision of trying to influence the world to eat more healthily rather than just confining this to yourself or to the people around you. Increasing efforts have been made to target the rising ‘globesity’ rate but none of them seem to have sustainable effects. I am particularly interested in your idea of how our food systems could be the key to tip the scale of obesity. However, I would like to learn more from you about how, by correcting our food systems to a great enough extent, will the obesity problem corrects itself. I personally think that obesity arises from many different contributing factors so I am not sure if food system, instead of other factors like education, awareness, public policies or self disciplines, is the most important contributing factor? 🙂

  2. Pingback: Go See Fed Up! | Don't Weight For Change

  3. Pingback: Joining the Food Revolution | Don't Weight For Change

Leave a Reply

