Viva La Chef

In case you were eagerly awaiting the news of my foray into meatless cooking–well, cooking in general really–it went very well! My mom has this vegetarian Italian cookbook. We picked two recipes from there and made a salad for good measure. I think it’s a good Meatless Monday model to have one legume, one grain or potato, and one non-starchy vegetable. I did a lot on my own, but my mom helped to move things along, show me how to cut things, add more oil and broth and spices when needed. I really want to learn how to do this on my own, but she just knows when to add more of things while I just tend follow the recipe to the letter. I did learn how to cut broccoli, how to mince garlic, and how to sauté things in oil. YAY! These are very useful skills. 

The more important thing is that my dad and brother, the usual carnivores, were very satisfied by their meatless meal:

Cannelini beans with tomato, garlic, and sage

Image

whole wheat spaghetti with broccoli and pecorino cheese

Image

all served with a caesar salad to start (made with a low cal yogurt based caesar dressing)

Image

I know those weren’t instagram worthy or anything, but I wanted to show off my handiwork. It was delicious, if I do say so myself. So there–you can have a delicious, healthy, and satisfying meal without any meat and a sparing use of dairy. Next week my dad wants me to make chili, so that’s what you can look forward to! 

Keep in mind that if we all kept Meatless Mondays, we would save the environment from some significant harms due to meat production, and free up a bunch of grain that could be used to feed the hungry. This is besides the health benefits that come from eating less meat, of course. So go forth and veg it up! 

Will you try Meatless Mondays? 

One thought on “Viva La Chef

  1. Pingback: Would you like a drug-resistant infection with that? | Don't Weight For Change

Leave a Reply

